Foreclosure Issues...Negotiating with the bank

5 Replies

Hello Everyone.  

Im new to bigger pockets and Im excited to be apart of this amazing community.  As there are many members here that are experienced in real estate Im looking for some advice about the following:

I am dealing with a property that is currently in the foreclosure and is coming close to a sales date.  The balance owed to the bank is about 30% lower than the current market value.  I am currently putting together the funds to clear the mortgage, but I was hoping to negotiate with the bank to reduce the total amount owed to get closer to the amount of funds I have available.  Does anyone have any experience with this that can give me some advice?  Do I need a lawyer to do these negotiations, or can I do it myself? Are banks even willing to reduce the amount owed on a foreclosure property to keep the owner in the home? 

Thanks in advance for the help!!! 

@Nevasca Powell

Banks don’t operate that way. They’ll want to list it at current condition market value and only entertain price drops if there aren’t any takers.

No.  The bank won't entertain a discounted pay off unless the loan balance was higher than the property value, and then only via short sale.  No reason for them to take a discount when there is 30% equity..

I agree with the others. As long as the market value of the property exceeds the mortgage, the bank will not negotiate a reduction of the principal.

The bank would just let the property sit. I use to go to public auctions to bid on properties because that's the only way they figure they get a good honest deal. At these auctions, banks sometimes put a bid in themselves if the highest bid is below the outstanding mortgage amount if it's an absolute auction, or set a reserve price equal to the mortgage amount.