My first Sub2 deal. I Need Help.

9 Replies

I found a property thats going into foreclosure Feb. 6 and I believe its a good deal for a sub2 (details below). The homeowner has accepted my offer and we're getting contract signed today. Since this the first time I have tried doing this type of deal, I'm not really sure what i should do after i have contract. If you have any experience with sub2 your advice would be greatly appreciated thank you.

San Antonio, TX 78229

3/2 ARV 110-120k rent 1,000-1,200

Loan owed 86k @ 5% (maturity 2041)

Mth Pmts. $825 (tax/ins incl.)

Balance to bring loan current $5,600

I have no experience with Subject to deals, but these numbers don't bode well for a successful investment. At best you are cash flowing $375 before expenses, at worst $175. This could very easily turn into a negatively cash flowing property. I would be sure the numbers work before continuing the deal. Just my 2 cents

I've done a few of these before, but I'm no guru.  That doesn't sound like a bad deal.  What are you planning on doing with it? Holding onto it or flipping it?  If the first then you're just giving up cash now for cash flow long term.  If the latter then does it need any work?   I would make sure you're still able to save the property.  Feb 6th seems a bit close.  Again, not an expert.  

personally I would only do this is you can flip it quick and make 10K other wise I don't think it has enough equity and payment is too high for a rental.. you know how tax's go up there and cap ex in Texas can be high .. but if its a way to get in the game with 5600.. you can give it a worl.. but you will have another 1200 or so in closing costs.. and of course the minor risk of the note being called upon the transfer..

I have done a ton of these over the years but however I always wanted at least 30 to 35% equity ..