partnering with my brother

5 Replies

Just a little background info. I own two duplexes and I'm a teacher in New York. My brother has $30,000 but horrible credit and no W-2 income so he can obtain any type of loan. He's works construction on the side but very sporadically. We are looking to do a deal together, but I am unsure of how to do that. My credit is very good (825) but at this point, i can't match his 30k. we are looking at 130000 duplexes so 30k should be all we need for the down payment. I have some money for closing, reserves and immediate maintance. I was going to call my lawyer to see what he'd suggest but figured I'd ask you guys first. I trust my brother and we are very close. if love to help him get his first deal somehow. I'm not against doing nothing with him but just curious as to what all your creative minds could think of. Thanks
correction: my brother can't get a loan..

@Brian Zaug why does he have horrible credit?  

Since you trust him, and already have two duplexes under your belt, if you buy something together, you should be the one in charge of finances, and day-to-day management(if you self manage) to begin with.   

Also, for the duplex you're looking at, have a clear operating agreement and everything be laid out on the table before you go in on the deal together.  As someone who just left a family venture that failed due to different goals, and lack of communication, make sure you both know what you expect from each other from the start.

Scott Wolf

Thanks for that info Scott.  My brother is younger and he just doesn't have credit.  He has no cc cards, loans or anything.  He's just getting started with his life at 31...lol...Better late than never I guess.  I am a bit hesitant to go into a deal with him but I do trust him and he does add some value with his handywork skills.