• Miami, FL
Votes |
Need help mapping out and planning my next move

Jerryian Francois
Pro Member
  • Investor
  • Miami, FL
Posted May 5 2022, 16:44

Hey bigger pockets family just sitting here in need of some advice on my next move. So I have some experience flipping but I am transitioning into the rental landlord aspect of real estate I currently recently purchased a duplex that came with a Efficency making it 3 units I am renting out I have 30k but I live in Miami where prices are unbelievable I know I want to s ale up from 3 units to maybe 6 units but finding that in Miami is impossible so with that being said should I just get another duplex FHA? or continue to save up the 30k ?

User Stats

Votes
William F. Senkowsky
Pro Member
Votes |
Pro Member
Replied May 5 2022, 17:20

If you own the triplex and it's all rented out, you might consider doing a HELOC to use for another purchase if you can't do a re-fi. But the interest rates would be a key factor of those options as well as getting another mortgage to purchase the next property. Whenever you can use OPM (other peoples money) you save yourself from using what you have in reserve. 30k is a decent amount but you might want to consider other options that could help you keep most or all of that amount. Your goals and strategies will also play a role in which option you choose. It'll come down to what are you willing to move forward with and still sleep at night. The way I look at interest rates are that if I get into a mortgage that is a little high, I will refinance when/if they come back down. If they don't come down then I'll have an interest rate lower than future current market. Also if the rates don't come down then I would look at doing a HELOC which my mortgage rate will still be lower than rest of the market and I can use the money to move forward. Hope that makes sense.

User Stats

Votes
Jerryian Francois
Pro Member
  • Investor
  • Miami, FL
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Investor
  • Miami, FL