Skip to content
Goals, Business Plans & Entities

User Stats

Votes

How to start in realestate?

Posted Feb 2 2023, 08:54

Hello to all,

I'm interested in breaking into the real estate world as a side gig. My background is in the medical field (RN). I don't have any real estate experience. I am interested in learning and earning along the way. What is the best way to learn, start a business, make connections and build my core four in real estate? 

I've considered:

1. Home inspector

2. Realtor

3. Property Manager assistant

4. Bird dog

5. Read a few books get a couple core four recommendations, buy a property and hope for the best.

Your feed back is much appreciated, Thank you.

User Stats

Votes
Matthew Kwan
  • Lender
  • Bellevue, WA
Votes |
  • Lender
  • Bellevue, WA
Replied Feb 2 2023, 09:05

HI Derrick,

You could probably consider being a realtor or property manager assistant to get your hands dirty in the industry. However the best way is to get in the door by acquiring one so maybe house hack. I know housing prices in DC can be scary especially Georgetown but maybe Virginia or Maryland since it's like 20-30 mins from the capital

@Carlos Valencia @Albert Bui

User Stats

Votes
Amber Fisher
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Virginia
Votes |
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Virginia
Replied Feb 2 2023, 09:42

Have you considered investing in properties to flip or turn into rentals?

BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|
Sponsored
Find an investor-friendly agent in your market TODAY Get matched with our network of trusted, local, investor friendly agents in under 2 minutes

User Stats

Votes
Steven Foster Wilson
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Columbus, OH
Votes |
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Columbus, OH
Replied Feb 2 2023, 09:45
Quote from @Derrick Blackwell:

Hello to all,