C corp. & FLP Setup for Canadian citizen!

6 Replies

Hi
Could someone please help me connecting with the right law firm who has opened C-corp & FLP for any Canadians doing business in the U.S.? I want to setup the entity as soon as possible and looking for a good lawyer/attorney who can help me do that professionally.
Thanks

@Parveen Tiwari

Welcome to BP.

How have you determined that a C-corp and/or LP are the vehicles best fitting your needs?   

Medium greenapartmenthires 1024x1024Roy N., Louer Louer Ltd. | 1.506.471.4126

Hi 

I read someone post at Google and that's what they got as canadian. Not sure if that's the right one to go with? 

I'm not an expert on this, but my understanding is that C-Corps are double taxed.  That is to say that the shareholders are taxed on payroll and the corporation is taxed on earnings.

Most real estate entities are formed as LLCs or S-Corps for that reason.  All three forms should give you protection of your personal assets against corporate liability, as long as certain procedures are followed.

Talk to a qualified business attorney, tax attorney and/or CPA to get better advice.

Medium clear sailing logo  1600x489Charlie MacPherson, Clear Sailing Realty | 781‑412‑4151 | http://www.ClearSailingRealty.com

@Parveen Tiwari

Looks like you are in the GTA.  In that case, look up Jason Ansel of Altro Levy.  They are experts in cross border tax and legal strategies, and can provide a consultation for your best structure to use.  

@Charlie MacPherson

As a Canadian, @Parveen Tiwari 's taxation considerations will be a little different than yours.