How do I start real estate but got no money..??!

17 Replies

How do I start real estate but have no money..??!

The best way to start would be to start saving, you want going to need something to bring to the table. Depending on your goals house hacking might be the best method. Either get a SFH or MFH and rent out the other rooms if it cash flows great if not you have a rent free asset. I would save until you can acquire an house to house hack or partner with someone.

I'm just getting started myself and finding that you need money if you are not well connected or super resourceful. Read every book you can get your hands on. The PB podcast is an awesome resource. Save what you can and educate yourself until you find the right opportunity. I just finished "Set for Life" by Scott Trench and have more confidence that I don't need a ton of money upfront but it helps. 

How am I getting started?

-I do have a small savings (almost enough for a down but not unexpected expenses) so I continue to save until I find the deal I can't pass on

-renting my current property and saving every dollar that I can towards my first property

-I have a "house hack" situation that's working out well

-using a HELOC for cash reserves

-I am looking at and running the numbers on properties I find daily. Even though I can't buy just yet, I'm getting some experience

Educate yourself and save while you do.

I spent some time generating income by finding undervalued items on craigslist or facebook marketplace and was able to create 400% ROI on most of the items when resold. The internet at our fingertips is a huge advantage. I wound up creating a side gig that averaged 100 dollars per hour.

A prereq (imo) would be 3-6 months savings in the bank/cash. If you don't have this sell stuff on ebay, deliver pizza, or drive for a ride-share company. After that use your funds for REI.