Loan Approval Without Employment

6 Replies

I am working on my first deal and I have started working on getting a loan pre-approval. My concern is that I am currently a college student and my employment is based on co-op cycles within the college so I cannot provide 2 years of steady employment. I was planning to utilize an FHA loan to take advantage of the low down payment but I have hear the are more strict with the employment verification.

Has anyone had any experience getting loan approval / pre-approval with a similar employment situation? If so I would love to hear about your experience and what lender you used!

DTI would be the variable this hits and different lenders have different policies. I would visit a non-traditional mortgage originator to see what lenders he or she works with and what products they support without a DTI.

Credit score will have to be > 580 and cash position will have to be enough to cover the difference between 96.5% of appraised value and sale price, plus closing costs.

@Ronald Allen Barney My credit score is currently in the mid 700s and my cash position should be good to cover the down payment and closing costs on the property I am looking at. I am not familiar with non-traditional mortgage originators, do you have any recommendations on where to begin looking for one?

Promotion
Turo
Turo car sharing
Average $50K/yr with 5 cars
Join thousands of entrepreneurs who have started successful car sharing businesses on Turo.
Learn more