Skip to content
Starting Out

User Stats

Votes
Nestor Vega
Votes |
how to analyze and find deals in todays market (2022)

Nestor Vega
Posted Jan 15 2022, 17:01

hi everyone,

im a total newbie to real estate. I've been looking for an investment property that'll also be my first house. the plan is to purchase a property (CA) and execute the BRRRR strategy. however, that's proven to be extremely difficult. im having a hard time just figuring out exactly what is a deal and how the numbers would really work. analysis paralysis is real!

what do you look for when analyzing a SFH for future rental potential? what would be your advice to a brand new investor and newbie to the real estate game in general?

User Stats

Votes
Nicholas L.
Pro Member
  • Flipper/Rehabber
  • Pittsburgh
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Flipper/Rehabber
  • Pittsburgh
Replied Jan 16 2022, 09:44

@Nestor Vega BRRRR means you are looking to add value to a house by significantly increasing the ARV, either via repairs, or adding square footage, or adding a bedroom, or some other creative strategy, or some combination. To use real numbers (but not California numbers!), a "deal" would be something you could buy for $100K and spend $40-50K on, that would appraise for $200K+. If you read more about this on BP most will say that to do this you have to buy something off market (IE not on the MLS) because there isn't enough opportunity to add value to an MLS property.

Getting started with a BRRRR is possible, but can be difficult, because you have to find a deal that is way undervalued as described above.

Another way to get started is to house hack.  Or to pick a different market.  Or to house hack in a different market.

User Stats

Votes
Justin Stewart
  • Ontario, CA
Votes |
  • Ontario, CA
Replied Jan 16 2022, 12:03