Skip to content
Starting Out

User Stats

Votes
Alex Vockery
  • New to Real Estate
  • USA
Votes |
Is an LLC really the BEST option for flipping houses?

Alex Vockery
  • New to Real Estate
  • USA
Posted Jan 16 2022, 11:21

Hello everyone, 

I am just starting out in the world of real estate investing and I wanted to choose a strategy that both created long-term value for the communities around me and provided for my family. I believe that Flipping/rehabbing homes will be this avenue but I am not sure that buying homes in an LLC is the best option. From what I have learned so far, a lot of people use an LLC but is this really the best option when I don't plan to own the properties for very long?

Thank you for any advice given! 

User Stats

Votes
David M.
  • Morris County, NJ
Votes |
  • Morris County, NJ
Replied Jan 16 2022, 12:46

@Alex Vockery

Well, what is your concern?

LLC's don't provide any tax/accounting advantage unless you are investing with a non-spousal partner. some, but not all, hard money lenders will require that you use a LLC.

The main reason is the limited liablity protection. If its cost effective for you, many investors just have one flip per one LLC so they truly get isolate and discard the liability. Some will start a new LLC over few years.

If not a LLC, what are you thinking? Sure you could use your personal name...

User Stats

Votes
Alex Vockery
  • New to Real Estate
  • USA
Votes |
  • New to Real Estate
  • USA
Replied Jan 16 2022, 13:07

Some of my main concerns are the lending and financing options. With an LLC per flip, wouldn't that generally make it much harder to do traditional loans? I would only be able to do hard money or private money. Going down that path I feel would limit me for a year or so until I build my network out enough.