Skip to content
Starting Out

User Stats

Votes
Marie Griffin
Votes |
Travel nurse trying to invest in REI, need advice.

Marie Griffin
Posted Jan 17 2022, 11:45

I need some advice. I'm a travel nurse "2 years". I just purchased a new build home in May of 2021 in Florida "used my VA home loan".

My issue is when going to use a conventional loan I'll have to quit my travel nurse job, take up a local assignment to prove I have a "steady" job. "Had to do this with my first home"

I need a lender who understands REI and travel nurse work. I'm never without a contract unless I want time off. They literally throw offers at travel nurses multiple times a day. I need a lender or someone to guide me in the right direction.

My goal is to obtain a condo on the beach, with beach views and airbnb it. Or to do a "BRRRR", near the beach and my home.

Any advice would be helpful.

Thank yall!

User Stats

Votes
Nick Velez
  • Lender
  • Florida
Votes |
  • Lender
  • Florida
Replied Jan 17 2022, 12:11

A DSCR loan would fully eliminate that issue as it's not based on your personal income but instead, on the ability for the property to cash flow.
If you want to go the conventional route, you should be fine as long as you have 2 years of tax returns.  I am assuming that when you file this year, you will then have those 2 years of returns? 

User Stats

Votes
Stephanie P.
Pro Member
#4 Mortgage Brokers & Lenders Contributor
  • Washington, DC Mortgage Lender/Broker
Votes |
Pro Member
Replied Jan 17 2022, 15:12
Originally posted by @Marie Griffin:

I need some advice. I'm a travel nurse "2 years". I just purchased a new build home in May of 2021 in Florida "used my VA home loan".

My issue is when going to use a conventional loan I'll have to quit my travel nurse job, take up a local assignment to prove I have a "steady" job. "Had to do this with my first home"