Starting Out

User Stats

Votes
Mary E Zimmer
Votes |
Question on using equity in primary residence to invest

Mary E Zimmer
Posted Jan 21 2022, 12:57

Hi!  I'm new to real estate investing, and was going to use a cash-out refinance of my primary residence to fund a rental property purchase.  However, doing this would mean that the rental property purchase would have no mortgage, and thus would be a bigger target for lawsuits.  Yet, I have heard one shouldn't just sit on the equity in one's primary residence and should use it instead.  I of course intend to get great insurance on the rental property, but even this might not be enough to protect from lawsuits.  I would really appreciate hearing other people's thoughts on this.  

User Stats

Votes
Greg Scott
Pro Member
  • Rental Property Investor
  • SE Michigan
Votes |
Pro Member
  • SE Michigan
Replied Jan 21 2022, 13:16

Why does taking cash out of your home mean you cannot get a mortgage on a rent property?   Those should not be mutually exclusive things.

If your bank is telling you you cannot have both, be sure you are talking to a mortgage broker that understands income property.  The qualification rules are different than when you are just getting a mortgage on the house you live in.

User Stats

Votes
Mary E Zimmer
Votes |
Replied Jan 21 2022, 13:18

Thank you so much for your reply Greg.  I actually didn't ask, but I will.  Thanks again!

BiggerPockets logo
Find, Vet and Invest in Syndications
|
BiggerPockets
PassivePockets will help you find sponsors, evaluate deals, and learn how to invest with confidence.

User Stats

Votes
John Leake
Pro Member
  • Normal, IL
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Normal, IL
Replied Jan 21 2022, 13:19

@Mary E Zimmer I also don't see someone looking to sue you caring one way or another if you have debt on your property. I would maintain a good liability policy and if a good opportunity comes along pull money out of the investment to fund the next deal! Good luck.

User Stats

Votes