Skip to content
Starting Out

User Stats

Votes
Jared M Pilarski
Pro Member
Votes |
looking to buy first rental property out of state!

Jared M Pilarski
Pro Member
Posted Jan 23 2022, 17:42

Hello everyone! My wife and I are looking to start our real estate journey! Currently we live in Hawaii and I am an active duty Soldier, we have decided that investing in Hawaii is too much of a risk for us at the moment, but are looking at other markets that offer good value but also not a warzone. We would love to do multi family, but are also open to doing SFR as well. Our max price range is around 170k as we would have to put 20% down. Cash flow would be nice, but long term appreciation and with break even cash flow is even better! Any advice and leads are very much appreciated

User Stats

Votes
Tyler Peitzmeier
  • Investor
  • Newport Beach, CA
Votes |
  • Investor
  • Newport Beach, CA
Replied Jan 23 2022, 18:05

Hey Jared,

My top advice would be to look into getting a VA loan and utilizing it however you can. You can only have one VA loan at a time, but you can refinance the loan after 12 months into a conventional and then go get another VA loan again. That gives you a lot of flexibility where you can invest to get cashflow.

In terms of good markets, I believe there are great deals in any market. You just have to look a lot and run the numbers. the Biggerpockets calculators are a big help.

Hope this helps!

Tyler

User Stats

Votes
Jared M Pilarski
Pro Member
Votes |
Pro Member
Replied Jan 23 2022, 19:37
The only downside with a VA loan is you have to have it as a primary residence, but after I am out of the military we will be utilizing it to its fullest! I appreciate the advice though!

Originally posted by @Tyler Peitzmeier:

Hey Jared,