Starting Out

User Stats

Votes
Magnus Heng
Votes |
RSO LA Area Seek Rent increase Advice

Magnus Heng
Posted May 13 2022, 19:22

I have little knowledge so assume I know nothing. My family is an unfortunate event where my aunt is medically incapacitated and we’re taking care of all her finances.

She owns an apartment in LA that is under RSO and the only source of income supporting her at the moment. Unfortunately she managed this poorly and never increased rent for years and it is significantly under then current market and will not support her medical bills and needs. 

I am looking for any advice possible on avenues to increase the rent. I know with current LA Covid mandates increases are currently on pause until possibly 2023. We are also exploring a 1031 DST exchange.

User Stats

Votes
Nathan Gesner
  • Real Estate Broker
  • Cody, WY
Votes |
  • Real Estate Broker
  • Cody, WY
ModeratorReplied May 14 2022, 07:09
Quote from @Magnus Heng:

I have little knowledge so assume I know nothing. My family is an unfortunate event where my aunt is medically incapacitated and we’re taking care of all her finances.

She owns an apartment in LA that is under RSO and the only source of income supporting her at the moment. Unfortunately she managed this poorly and never increased rent for years and it is significantly under then current market and will not support her medical bills and needs. 

I am looking for any advice possible on avenues to increase the rent. I know with current LA Covid mandates increases are currently on pause until possibly 2023. We are also exploring a 1031 DST exchange.

Do you have the option of terminating the lease for owner occupancy? Perhaps you can terminate the lease, move in to justify the termination, clean it up, and then move back out?