Pro Member
  • North Wales, PA
Votes |
Finally pulled the trigger

Tim R.
Pro Member
  • North Wales, PA
Posted Aug 8 2022, 10:49

I'm not exactly new to BiggerPockets, but I am new to posting and investing. I've been educating myself on real estate investing for several years and I finally pulled the trigger on an investment property. Here's a little background about me. I'm 42, and married to my amazing wife whom with I have a 2 year old son. He is my inspiration for getting over the analysis paralysis stage to actually taking action. We have been looking to move into a larger home with more land closer to my wife's family (about 45 minutes from where we currently live) so that our son can grow up with his cousin who is less than 3 weeks older than him. Unfortunately with the current market conditions and recent interest rate hikes, we have been priced out of a majority of properties that we are looking for. So we switched gears and decided to increase our income with rental properties. Here are some details about the deal along with lease question (I know that nobody can give legal advice, just trying to get a consensus opinion).

The property is currently rented for $1200/month, which is about $300 less than market for the condition of the property in the area it is in. Our offer was for $207,500 cash with a 30-day closing and our offer was accepted. Upon receiving a copy of the lease, it shows that there is a renewal term that reads:

STARTING AND END DATE OF LEASE(also called "Term"):

A. STARTING DATE:    This Lease starts on:          August 1, 2019     at 12 Noon.

B. ENDING DATE:       This Lease ends on:            July 31, 2020         at 12 Noon.

RENEWAL TERM:

This Lease will automatically renew for a term of One Year at the Ending Date unless:

A. Tenant gives Landlord 60 Days written notice before Ending Date or before the end of each Renewal Term

OR