Votes
Kenneth Hadinoto
Pro Member
Votes |
New Investor with a HELOC question

Kenneth Hadinoto
Pro Member
Posted Sep 8 2022, 13:43

Hi everyone! My name is Ken and I've been listening to the BP podcasts for close to 8 months now. Just started coming on the forums and wanted to introduce myself. I currently own the condo I'm in right now, and I'm thinking of looking for something to invest in. As far as money goes, once I find a deal and crunch the numbers, what would be the best way of financing said deal? I can probably find some people to go in on the deal with me, or should I take out a HELOC? What are the pros and cons of each? TIA for any help you could offer. I look forward to talking to all of you in the future.

User Stats

Votes
Dave Skow
  • Lender
  • Seattle, WA
Votes |
  • Lender
  • Seattle, WA
Replied Sep 8 2022, 13:55

@Kenneth Hadinoto 1) get a HELOC in place on your condo for the maximum amount in case you want to use it....the combined loan to value is likely to be 85% or 90% 2) with the HELOC in place you can then decide on either using it or using the partner approach 3) get fully pre approved before starting to actively look for the next property

User Stats

Votes
Trevor Alexander
  • Lender
  • Corvallis, OR
Votes |
  • Lender
  • Corvallis, OR
Replied Sep 8 2022, 13:58

Hi Kenneth -

Welcome to the forum. Well, the biggest con of a HELOC compared to if you were to split funds needed from another investor, would be that it's a second mortgage that you have to pay back. On the other hand, going into a deal with another person will hurt your cash flow by the need to split it. If you do go in on a deal with someone, I would just advise to be 100% positive it's a good partnership.