• New to Real Estate
  • Salt Lake City, UT
Votes |
Moving to Salt Lake Looking for advice!

Amy Frisella
  • New to Real Estate
  • Salt Lake City, UT
Posted Sep 19 2022, 11:43

I'm moving to salt lake city or Provo in january and am looking for suggestions on how to start out! I'm movng accross the country alone from missouri and want to use this move as my first step in real estate. the housing markey is 150% higher than missouri and a couple months ago after almost purchasing my first property in st louis, i was onlty able to qualify for a $125,000 FHA loan with my brother (using both of our FHAs) . With this being said, it doesnt appear i'll be able to afford a house in the area without creative finacing or a partner.

Alternatively, I've considered renting and attempting to rent from an apartment that is STR friendly so that when i go out of town or decide to move, I'm able to rent it out. I work as an interior/architectural designer and project manager so setting up airbnbs is something i have experince with.

let me know your thoughts! I'll take any advice or pointers!

User Stats

Votes
Logan McKay Zylstra
  • Realtor
  • Salt Lake City, UT
Votes |
  • Realtor
  • Salt Lake City, UT
Replied Sep 19 2022, 12:49

Amy, exciting stuff. Yeah, prices here have increased rather dramatically over the past 3 years. One thing to remember is that you can use 75% of rents in a 2-4 unit to qualify for the mortgage which would bring up what you are able to qualify for. With that being said, I don't think you would be able to qualify without a cosigner.

I know of a few pretty cheap apartment buildings in SLC where you could probably come pretty close to breaking even after renting out individual rooms. Just so you know, STRs are banned in SLC, (but it still goes on because of a few reasons).

Quick tip: