Votes
Ronshay McBridge
Pro Member
Votes |
NEED A HANDHOLDER TO GET STARTED

Ronshay McBridge
Pro Member
Posted Sep 20 2022, 22:15

Im new to REI and I don't know where to start I have a FHA loan on my primary home and 15k in equity in the house not much had the home since April 2017 I have a great paying W2 and they pay for my housing I have 50k saved up and a business account that does not produce anything IM LOST

User Stats

Votes
Nathan Gesner
  • Real Estate Broker
  • Cody, WY
Votes |
  • Real Estate Broker
  • Cody, WY
ModeratorReplied Sep 21 2022, 04:24
Quote from @Ronshay McBridge:

Im new to REI and I don't know where to start I have a FHA loan on my primary home and 15k in equity in the house not much had the home since April 2017 I have a great paying W2 and they pay for my housing I have 50k saved up and a business account that does not produce anything IM LOST

1. Start with BiggerPockets Ultimate Beginners Guide (free). It will familiarize you with the basic terminology and benefits. Then you can read a more in-depth book like The Book On Rental Property Investing by Brandon Turner or The Unofficial Guide to Real Estate Investing by Spencer Strauss.

2. Get your finances in order. Get rid of debt, build a budget, and save. The idea that you can build wealth without putting any money into it is a recipe for disaster and the sales pitch of gurus trying to steal your money. A wise investor will not try to get rich quick with shortcuts. If you can't keep control of your personal finances, you are highly unlikely to succeed in real estate investing. Check out my personal favorite, Set For Life by Scott Trench , or The Total Money Makeover by Dave Ramsey.

3. As you read these books, watch the BiggerPockets podcasts. This will clarify and reinforce what you are reading. You can hear real-world examples of how others have built their investment portfolio and (hopefully) learn to avoid their mistakes.