Starting Out

User Stats

Votes
Penda Sarr
Votes |
I need help starting in real estate

Penda Sarr
Posted Sep 22 2022, 08:56

I am a nurse by trade, but I have always wanted to invest in real estate, and make my living doing so. I need guidance and help on where to start, to get my first properties. I am ready to do all the work, and I want to start as soon as possible with my future investments.

Can anyone help, or guide me in the right direction please? My end goal is to have multiple rentals units and properties, and invest and resell as well. I am very passionate and motivated. I am good with numbers, and I think that I will very good in this business.  

User Stats

Votes
Benjamin Aaker
Pro Member
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Brandon, SD
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Brandon, SD
Replied Sep 22 2022, 09:30
Hi Penda, I'm always happy to see other healthcare professionals on BP. Real estate is a great way to have another source of income. It's tough to do this simply quitting your current income source (though it can be done). Have you considered becoming a traveling nurse, setting your own hours, and using that income to help you get started? It's 10x easier to get your RE investing off the ground with a primary source of income for multiple reasons.
For guidance, work on saving money for the initial down payment. If you are willing to house hack, you should look for a 4 plex and live in one unit. This way, you can get an FHA loan and have low money down. Start talking to bankers right now to get an idea for what you'll need to bring to the table.
If you insist on quitting your primary income source, you'll want to look into wholesaling or find a job with a property management firm, investment firm, or real estate brokerage. There are many ways to start in RE, but they all are a slog at first and require plenty of work and time to do right.
Best of luck to you.

User Stats

Votes
Michael Dumler
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Atlanta, GA
Votes |
  • Real Estate Agent