Skip to content
Starting Out

User Stats

Votes
Erik Salmon
Votes |
Which option should I use for financing my first deal?

Erik Salmon
Posted Oct 19 2022, 15:08

I am just beginning the process of getting into real estate but I am having a hard time deciding how to fund my first deal. I have built up some equity in my primary residence and have investments to cover a down payment as well. I was wondering how I can put the equity in my house to use. I have been looking at a Refinance or HELOC. The one thing I am wary of is a second mortgage on my home with a heloc. I am open to any other options as well.

User Stats

Votes
William Sing
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Portland, OR
Votes |
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Portland, OR
Replied Oct 20 2022, 10:16

I think HELOC would probably be the best choice for you right now. With rates increasing a refinance will most likely not make sense. If you can use that HELOC to then buy another primary residence and rent out your current property it would be an option. If you are looking to do just an investment loan (25% down) then it will be a bit harder and longer for you to get to that.

Also not sure what your strategy is but keep that in mind! 

Account Closed
  • Investor
  • Denver, CO
Votes |
  • Investor
  • Denver, CO
Replied Oct 20 2022, 11:24

I'm an acquisitions analyst at a real estate investment advisory firm and I'd be happy to answer any questions. Shoot me a direct message. 

BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|
Sponsored
Find an investor-friendly agent in your market TODAY Get matched with our network of trusted, local, investor friendly agents in under 2 minutes

User Stats

Votes
Ben V.
  • Lender
  • Florida
Votes |
  • Lender
  • Florida
Replied Oct 20 2022, 11:35

Hey Erik,

Welcome to BP!

You have several options for funding your first deal since you have equity in your home. I don't know what you are trying to do though...fix and flip, long term, short term...so forth.