Votes
Marie Grabo
  • Branford, CT
Votes |
Being transparent with a homeowner about wholesaling their home

Marie Grabo
  • Branford, CT
Posted Oct 24 2022, 07:29

Can someone advise me on how to be transparent, what to say to a homeowner who is willing to sell me their home way below MV? I would like to try to wholesale it as I'm not interested in buying it myself. I'm new to this or at least I have not done a deal yet and I want to be transparent instead of pretending like I'm going to be the one to purchase when I'm going to sell the contract...Thanks in advance.

Account Closed
  • Investor
  • Denver, CO
Votes |
  • Investor
  • Denver, CO
Replied Oct 24 2022, 08:34

You're definitely going to have to address the fact that if they sold and borrowed on another home, they'd likely be borrowing at a much higher rate. Wishing you success. 

User Stats

Votes
Scott E.
  • Developer
  • Scottsdale, AZ
Votes |
  • Developer
  • Scottsdale, AZ
Replied Oct 24 2022, 09:43

The wholesale contracts around here are written with language that says "and/or assignee" which just means "I will be your house, or whoever I assign this contract to will be buying your house." I'd imagine similar language is used in your area.

Regarding the transparency, you can just explain to them that either you will be buying the property, or one of your partners will be buying the property. You can share that you have a large network of investors that you work with on deals, and often times you pass deals off to these other investors instead of doing the deal yourself.

BiggerPockets logo
Find, Vet and Invest in Syndications
|
BiggerPockets
PassivePockets will help you find sponsors, evaluate deals, and learn how to invest with confidence.

User Stats

Votes
Hoa Nguyen
  • Edwardsville, IL
Votes |
  • Edwardsville, IL
Replied Oct 24 2022, 11:20

Expressing that you have connections and convincing the seller of the strength of those connections is key.