• Real Estate Agent
  • New York
Votes |
Need help with investment locations.

Mike Nowa
  • Real Estate Agent
  • New York
Posted Nov 1 2022, 15:02

Good Afternoon all!   I am a licensed real estate agent in NY and I’m looking for my first investment property.  I saved enough for a nice down payment.  Looking at homes no more than 200k.  Where I live the market is extremely high and will be a no go for investing.  I have looked at different markets from Atlantic City, Hartford, Newburgh, Waterbury, Syracuse.  I am open to all suggestions.   How far should my first rental be from me.  I wanted something close but that seems very far fetched at this point. Thank you in advanced!

User Stats

Votes
Nicholas L.
Pro Member
#1 Starting Out Contributor
  • Flipper/Rehabber
  • Pittsburgh
Votes |
Pro Member
#1 Starting Out Contributor
  • Flipper/Rehabber
  • Pittsburgh
Replied Nov 1 2022, 17:00

@Mike Nowa

I like within driving distance.

Will you hire a PM?

User Stats

Votes
CJ M.
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Canton, OH
Votes |
  • Canton, OH
Replied Nov 1 2022, 17:09

@Mike Nowa

There are many successful out of state investors, but my feeling, take it or leave it, is invest in your backyard. You know the market, can inspect things to your standard, and can be at the property in case of emergency.

There's already soooo much risk in this business, why add more risk by investing somewhere you can't even get to quickly?

BiggerPockets logo
Meet Investor-Friendly Agents
|
BiggerPockets
Network with top investor-friendly agents who can help you find, analyze, and close your next deal.

User Stats

Votes
Mike Nowa
  • Real Estate Agent
  • New York
Votes |
  • Real Estate Agent
  • New York
Replied Nov 1 2022, 19:43

I would Hire a PM depending on location.  I agree investing in the backyard is the best thing to do.  Only issue is the market around me is absolutely insane right now.  Whats the maximum distance from me I should be looking?

User Stats

Votes