User Stats

Votes
Anh Nguyen
Votes |
Trying to narrow down a househack strategy in San Diego

Anh Nguyen
Posted Nov 1 2022, 17:59

Hey all,

I'm pretty new to real estate and was originally considering buying a starter condo around 2024, but am now sold on house hacking. Below is some background information for context and a few options I have so far. I would appreciate any feedback on each route or any additional ideas. 

Income: 120k

Downpayment: 5%

Credit: Excellent

Goal: Low effort equity building through house hacking

Area: North of I-8, West of I-15, South of Escondido

1. $600k SFH 3bd Condo - Rent out two rooms

Mortgage: $4500

Room 1 Rent: $1000

Room 2 Rent: $1000

2. 1.2Mil Duplex 3bd+ - Rent out one unit

Mortgage: $8500

Unit 1 Rent: $3000

3. 1.2Mil Duplex 4bd+ - Rent out one unit, rent out a room in other unit

Mortgage: $8500

Unit 1 Rent: $3000

Unit 2 Room Rent: $1000

4. Option 2 or 3, but do STR with a property manager instead of LTR

Thanks!

User Stats

Votes
Marshall Leipprandt
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Miramar Beach FL and Los Angeles, CA
Votes |
  • Real Estate Agent
Replied Nov 1 2022, 19:00

@Anh Nguyen All good strategies with what sounds like your stable income and excellent credit. However, if your goal is low effort than having one of your units be an STR may be a little more work than what you're looking for. I manage 2 STRs and have found the work required is manageable but still far more than an LTR. Even with a PM, there are some other considerations you'd have with using a unit or units as an STR.

Overall, I like Option 3 the most because without knowing the exact location, it appears to be the least risky as you'd have the most income (and probably least amount of work) coming in from tenants while having access to the long-term appreciation and equity of a $1.2M property.