Skip to content
Starting Out

User Stats

Votes
Sean Osch
Votes |
How to invest in rentals when strapped for time?

Sean Osch
Posted Nov 6 2022, 07:07

Hey everyone,

I'm new to investing in real estate. I'd like to purchase a rental in the Knoxville TN area, but I don't have spare time to maintain the property myself. How would you recommend identifying and investing in my first rental? Should I work with an organization, a local agent, or do something else? Again, I don't have a large amount of time to spend managing the investment (or searching for it), but I can do some analysis to ensure it appears to be a good investment in terms of area, yield, etc. 

Thanks!

Sean

User Stats

Votes
Chris Seveney
Pro Member
#1 All Forums Contributor
  • Investor
  • Virginia
Votes |
Pro Member
#1 All Forums Contributor
  • Investor
  • Virginia
Replied Nov 6 2022, 10:01

i would do none of the above. If you do not have the time, I recommend holding off on investing.

User Stats

Votes
Matt Castle
  • Realtor
  • Gatlinburg, TN
Votes |
  • Realtor
  • Gatlinburg, TN
Replied Nov 6 2022, 15:20

Find an agent who specializes in investment properties, run your own investment analysis, then decide if the numbers make sense for your circumstances. 

If you can't/won't manage it yourself, hire a local property management firm to take care of your assets for you, but don't be a hands off owner. Call your PM once a quarter, at minimum, ask what you can do to them help, ask for visits to the property once a year (at minimum), etc. 

If you're in town, make random drive by visits to see if everything looks good from the street. Ask to see it yourself but schedule it ahead of time. 

Just b/c you're hands off 99% of the time, doesn't mean you should stay hands off all the time. Put in the work. Nothing passive about real estate, no matter what the gurus or influencers will tell you. 

BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|
Sponsored