Starting Out

User Stats

Votes
Vincent Lattuca
Pro Member
  • New to Real Estate
  • Long Island, NY
Votes |
How do I choose a market/location to invest in?

Vincent Lattuca
Pro Member
  • New to Real Estate
  • Long Island, NY
Posted Nov 6 2022, 14:00

What are some things that you look for when choosing a market to invest in? I am just starting out on my real estate journey and would love some advice.

User Stats

Votes
Eliott Elias#3 BRRRR - Buy, Rehab, Rent, Refinance, Repeat Contributor
  • Investor
  • Austin, TX
Votes |
Eliott Elias#3 BRRRR - Buy, Rehab, Rent, Refinance, Repeat Contributor
  • Investor
  • Austin, TX
Replied Nov 6 2022, 19:09

Choose one you can drive 30 min to from where you live. There is a lot you are going to learn just by being in close proximity to the property. 

User Stats

Votes
Joe Villeneuve
Pro Member
#4 All Forums Contributor
  • Plymouth, MI
Votes |
Pro Member
#4 All Forums Contributor
  • Plymouth, MI
Replied Nov 6 2022, 20:15

One that cash flows and is profitable.

BiggerPockets logo
Find, Vet and Invest in Syndications
|
BiggerPockets
PassivePockets will help you find sponsors, evaluate deals, and learn how to invest with confidence.
Account Closed
  • Greensboro, NC
Votes |
  • Greensboro, NC
Replied Nov 6 2022, 21:19

It truly depends on what your investment objective is. It also depends on how local you want to be. If you're looking to stay within an hour of home, try to find a spot that has modest population growth (maybe 2% YoY) and rents that support your potential mortgage, operating expenses with maybe $200 left for you at the end of the month. 

User Stats

Votes
Jose Jacob
Pro Member
  • Investor
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Investor
Replied Nov 6 2022, 21:32

Starting at your backyard(Local Market)  will be the best bet.  You will learn a lot from it.  RE Investing is a long term journey with lot of bumps.

Good Luck

User Stats

Votes
Nathan Gesner
  • Real Estate Broker
  • Cody, WY
Votes |
  • Real Estate Broker