Skip to content
Starting Out

User Stats

Votes

Recent College Graduate Looking to Invest

Brandon Kowalski
Posted Nov 16 2022, 19:50

Hello All, I am a recent college graduate looking to get into REI and am looking for a advisor/partner to do deals with and take me under their wing. I am eager to learn and have some background knowledge with the industry but still have a lot to learn. I have been looking at small multifamily's in Illinois but quickly realized that with the property tax and interest rates being where they are, it would be hard to make a decent return. This has lead me to looking OOS as I have a solid amount of capital saved up to invest with. I've been considering turnkey (RTR) since I want something more passive as I am working full time in accounting but don't know if it is the way to go for my first deal. If there are any investors that have any advice on how they initially got their feet in the industry or would like to take a rookie under their wing, please reach out to me.

User Stats

Votes
Nicholas Coulter
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Southern California
Votes |
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Southern California
Replied Nov 16 2022, 19:54

@Brandon Kowalski I would suggest starting with a room rental house hack. Low risk and high profits while teaching yo to be a landlord on training wheels!

User Stats

Votes
Aj Parikh
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Centreville, VA
Votes |
  • Centreville, VA
Replied Nov 16 2022, 20:41

Hi Brandon, One of the easiest ways of scaling in real estate today is to invest in turnkey properties out of state. If you have a busy 9-5 routine but have the money to get started and don't have enough time, turnkey companies provide some of the best resources to scale your portfolio. I have used that strategy so feel free to reach out if you want to discuss.

BiggerPockets logo
Find, Vet and Invest in Syndications
|
BiggerPockets