Votes
Wasim G.
Pro Member
Votes |
Brand New in REI; starting out in Multifamily rental Investment

Wasim G.
Pro Member
Posted Dec 4 2022, 15:42

Hello everyone. This is my first post on BP. I'm just starting out my REI journey. My goal is to generate enough passive income one day to retire. I just got the pro account and also enrolled for MF bootcamp here starting in Feb. Other than that I also just got Chandler's video course because I'm awful at reading books.

I don't want to invest in Cali as there's no cashflow. I'm lookin at other markets. I have the down payment ready to buy a fourplex in most markets. Here to make connections, get recommendations on education, and hopefully find mentors.

User Stats

Votes
Nathan Gesner
  • Real Estate Broker
  • Cody, WY
Votes |
  • Real Estate Broker
  • Cody, WY
ModeratorReplied Dec 5 2022, 05:14
Quote from @Wasim G.:

Welcome to the BiggerPockets forums!

Dave Meyer has a video and blog post about which markets are projected to be strong in 2023. I recommend you track those down and narrow your focus down to a particular market, then start evaluating properties and watching what happens while you gain the education.

Here's a guide that describes what good cash flow looks like and how to analyze a property.

https://www.biggerpockets.com/...

• Property Manager Wyoming (#12599)

American West Realty & Management Logo

User Stats

Votes
Alex Larcheveque
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Votes |
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Replied Dec 5 2022, 23:01

Welcome @Wasim G.! I know you mentioned you're awful at reading books, but Long Distance Real Estate Investing by David Greene should be pretty useful if you're planning to invest out-of-state. There may be an audiobook version out, not 100% sure. 

Other than that, use the Bigger Pockets calculators for cash flow and make sure the numbers pencil out. Good luck, you got this!

First Team Real Estate Logo
BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|