Skip to content
Starting Out

User Stats

Votes
Brett Thompson
Votes |
Sources of data when deciding where to invest?

Brett Thompson
Posted Dec 6 2022, 10:10

Hi. Newbie here. Looking for advice on what sources to use when analyzing an area/region for investment purposes. Primarily interested in population and job growth statistics. Tyvm

User Stats

Votes
Nathan Gesner
  • Real Estate Broker
  • Cody, WY
Votes |
  • Real Estate Broker
  • Cody, WY
ModeratorReplied Dec 7 2022, 05:10
Quote from @Brett Thompson:

Hi. Newbie here. Looking for advice on what sources to use when analyzing an area/region for investment purposes. Primarily interested in population and job growth statistics. Tyvm

Don't spend too much time on it. Dave Meyers from Biggerpockets has videos and blogs showing some great markets to invest in. Below is an example. Spend an hour or so looking at each one, pick one, and go for it. Don't analyze until you're blue in the face, thinking it's going to make life easy.

• Property Manager Wyoming (#12599)

American West Realty & Management Logo

User Stats

Votes
Eliott Elias#3 BRRRR - Buy, Rehab, Rent, Refinance, Repeat Contributor
  • Investor
  • Austin, TX
Votes |
Eliott Elias#3 BRRRR - Buy, Rehab, Rent, Refinance, Repeat Contributor
  • Investor
  • Austin, TX
Replied Dec 7 2022, 07:18

Invest where you live. No point in finding the best market on paper and investing remotely. Too much opportunity out there to be investing out of state. 

BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|
Sponsored
Find an investor-friendly agent in your market TODAY Get matched with our network of trusted, local, investor friendly agents in under 2 minutes

User Stats

Votes
Julian Colvard
  • Property Manager
  • Atlanta, GA
Votes |
  • Property Manager
  • Atlanta, GA
Replied Dec 7 2022, 08:25

For me personally, I choose to invest in places that I know are growing. The way I know this is by looking at the population increase which is available on Google.