Benjamin Sulka#3 House Hacking Contributor
  • Cleveland, OH
Votes |
Advice on Getting Started

• Cleveland, OH
Posted Dec 7 2022, 07:07

Hey BP!

I am currently a college student set to graduate in May of 2023 and I really need some advice.

My girlfriend and I want to do a house hack in the Cleveland area after we graduate. Currently, interest rates are high and it has been challenging to find an affordable property in an "A" or "B" neighborhood like Shaker Heights, University Heights, Cleveland Heights, etc. Plus these areas have high taxes and point-of-sale inspections that may require a decent amount of $$$ out of pocket.

I have close to about $17k saved up from working during college but I also have some outstanding student loan debt to contend with. We will be making over $100k combined post-graduation but our current lease ends in July of 2023 so we would have to quickly find a new place before we really have a chance to save any money or pay down any debt.

Do you think it would make sense to wait a year, pay down some of my debt, wait for interest rates to ease a bit, and then get into the game? I hate to have to stay in an apartment for a year and throw money down a rat hole but it doesn't seem affordable at the moment to invest in a property that may require a large sum out of pocket.

We want to get started on the right foot but I am pretty stuck at the moment.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Ben Sulka, aspiring real estate investor

User Stats

Votes
Chris Davidson
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Boise, ID
Votes |
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Boise, ID
Replied Dec 7 2022, 07:16

@Benjamin Sulka reach out to an agent or a lender. Right now you will need a lender, but sometimes agents can provide the best refences for lenders as they work with more lenders than your average buyer. You need factual data based on your situation to get started and make a game plan. If the numbers make sense go forward. Get out of the  theory and get into the now!