Skip to content
Starting Out

User Stats

Votes

Getting Started In SE Michigan

Lorenzo Spurrier
Posted Dec 7 2022, 11:46

Hi, I'm a licensed Realtor/Builder in SE Michigan.  I have been in Real Estate sales for going on 5 years now.  The money is great, however, the work doesn't fulfill me at the end of the day.  I'd like to get into Real Estate investing and do residential redevelopment.  I have a few years of experience in manual labor.  I've done complete remodeling of kitchen/baths along with rough carpentry/roofing.  I have the tools, experience, education, and finances to move forward I just don't know how everyone is finding these off-market properties that turn a 10% profit at least.  It seems as if every deal I've analyzed from a number standpoint is a total loss or will result in breaking even.  What are some methods you successful investors are using to acquire and execute these transactions and turn a profit?  

User Stats

Votes
Nathan Gesner
  • Real Estate Broker
  • Cody, WY
Votes |
  • Real Estate Broker
  • Cody, WY
ModeratorReplied Dec 8 2022, 06:03

Ashley started out as a waitress making $20,000 a year and she's now up to 60+ rentals making $200,000 a year. I think there's room to succeed in Detroit. Here's her podcast:

• Property Manager Wyoming (#12599)

American West Realty & Management Logo

User Stats

Votes
Matt McGuire
Pro Member
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Montgomery, TX
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Montgomery, TX
Replied Dec 9 2022, 07:58

You have to invest in marketing. Successful investors that are getting off-market properties are sending thousands of mailers every month to lists that they purchase. You really have to commit to that if you want off-market deals. Or you need to find someone who is doing that and get on their investor list so you get sent the wholesale deals. 

Ignite Funding  logo
Ignite Funding
|
Sponsored