Starting Out

User Stats

Votes
Ramsey Scott
Votes |
18 years old and very interested in real estate investing

Ramsey Scott
Posted Dec 11 2022, 07:20

I have been researching and reading about real estate investing for a couple of months. I have noticed many different paths you can take and I am trying to find the best one for me. I am 18 so should I save for a down payment and buy as soon as the time is right, or should I wait a couple more years until I have a secure job that I can work until I have enough units?  Also, I live in an area that is one of the fasted growing areas in the country (Cary NC) and although it would be great to buy here, prices are pretty damn high and the cheapest multifamily I can find is 500,000+.

User Stats

Votes
Taylor Dasch
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Temple, TX
Votes |
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Temple, TX
Replied Dec 11 2022, 09:02

If you can get a loan then I'd buy a SFR and live in it, then plan to move out in a year and use it as a rental assuming it cash flows well. Can you afford a MFH outside of your market but close enough for you to be able to commute to work / school? If so that may be the best option.

Other than that, learning about it and then making calls and getting experience is the most important thing. I lean more towards taking action/ buying first because that will give you the experience needed to find deals and find what exactly would make a good deal. If you base your plan around taking action you will probably make a few big mistakes but the lessons learned will pay off in the future. Where if you just learn and keep learning and never jump on anything, you run the risk of doing that when you should be buying!

User Stats

Votes
Leo R.
  • Investor
Votes |
  • Investor
Replied Dec 11 2022, 09:14

@Ramsey Scott how about house hacking a single fam or small multifam property?

In my opinion, house hacking is the single best way for people to get started in real estate investing.