Starting Out

User Stats

Votes
Travis Headding
Votes |
New investor in the Pittsburgh area.

Travis Headding
Posted Dec 12 2022, 18:13

Hello everyone! First off let me say I am very happy to to be here and excited for the relationships that may form, and to be apart of this community. Being new to BiggerPockets I wanted to introduce myself and share my ideas and goals for my path in becoming a real estate investor. 5 Months ago I bought my first house as a fixer upper with the intent to flip, as I am a contractor and work in construction I do all of the work myself. Originally, as stated I intended to flip the house, but since I have decided to rent the property out after updating and modernizing it (FHA requires I live here for 2 years :(.) In the mean time I am looking at the possibilities of Owner Carry Contracts to get a Duplex in my investment portfolio. After 2 years I plan to house hack and obtain another duplex to renovate as well. My long term goal is to create a real estate portfolio consisting of a variety of 2, 3, and 4 door units, mobile home parks, and single family homes in order to move closer to achieving my goal of financial freedom. I have spent the last 9 months educating myself through podcasts, as well as reading 2 - 3 real estate investment books per week. Any advice will always be greatly appreciated by those whose footsteps have paved the way for rookies like myself! In advance, thank you all for being here for the newbies like myself!

User Stats

Votes
Gary Swank
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Pittsburgh, PA
Votes |
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Pittsburgh, PA
Replied Dec 12 2022, 20:55

Welcome to the Biggerpockets group. It sounds like you are well on your way towards achieving your goals.  If I can be of any help along the way, feel free to reach out to me. I've lived here my whole life, know the market very well, and truly love this amazing city of ours...Gary

User Stats

Votes
Anthony Angotti
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Pittsburgh, PA
Votes |