Starting Out

User Stats

Votes
Justin Dziedzic
Votes |
Complete newbie - Seeking help

Justin Dziedzic
Posted Dec 21 2022, 15:59

Hi everyone. So, I'm seeking to gain my first property in the next few months to buy and hold. I'm certain I know how to analyze a deal, etc. but I am very confused when it comes to finding deals, funding them, and estimating the ARV. I joined a few wholesaler lists but am still lost when it comes to how to fund a deal if I find one. My mortgage lender stated that they do not lend on distressed properties, which I believe is the case everywhere so if it's difficult to find turnkey properties right now (which is what I'm finding), how do y'all fund a property plus the rehab? Say I have 30k cash to work with, how would I go about getting a, say 70k property plus the rehab. Is anyone a lender that I can bend their ear for a bit? Sorry for the elementary question, I feel that this is the only thing I am still not clear on that may be my final piece of the puzzle.

Looking for any and all mentorship/help I can find and very much appreciative of you all. 

User Stats

Votes
Taylor L.
Pro Member
  • Multifamily and Self Storage Investor
  • Richmond, VA
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Multifamily and Self Storage Investor
  • Richmond, VA
Replied Dec 21 2022, 16:19

You'll need to find a private money lender or money partner to fund the deal. Local real estate meetups are the best places to meet those people.

User Stats

Votes
Joseph Crunkilton
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Oregon City, OR
Votes |
  • Oregon City, OR
Replied Dec 22 2022, 20:09

Hi Justin, 

Talk to a lender and get pre approved. It can feel overwhelming, have you ever considered turnkey rentals?

@Zach Lemaster runs a team that puts together profitable deals for investors. They help you through the process to make sure everything goes smoothly. I've bought a few deals from them and it has gone a long way to give me experience. 

Go check them out 

BiggerPockets logo