Skip to content
Starting Out

User Stats

Votes
Nicole Reeder
Votes |
Invest in single family home or convert backyard studio to ADU?

Nicole Reeder
Posted Dec 21 2022, 19:59

Hi there-

I have two homes, one in the Bay Area (CA) and the one I currently inhabit in Boise, ID. We have some money in the bank and are trying to figure out how to best invest it. The CA home is soon to become an STR and there is a 200 square foot backyard studio in the backyard that is just basically a rectangular room room with electricity (no plumbing, no gas). I've had two contractors out and they quoted me between 100K-150K to convert the space into an ADU, with kitchen and bathroom. The down payment on a modest single family home here in the Boise area would be about the same amount. My question is, does it make more sense to invest in a single family home here in Boise that I can rent out, or convert the studio space in CA to then rent out? I'm brand new to real estate investing (as is probably obvious!). My husband and I are leaning toward the ADU option. Just wish it wasn't so darn pricey and wondering if we can play general contractor ourselves. Any advice appreciated!

User Stats

Votes
Derek H.
  • Investor
  • Boise, ID
Votes |
  • Investor
  • Boise, ID
Replied Dec 22 2022, 10:52

More sense in what regards? Just money? Just stress? What are your goals?

User Stats

Votes
Nicole Reeder
Votes |
Replied Dec 22 2022, 11:34

Maximizing ROI

BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|
Sponsored
Find an investor-friendly agent in your market TODAY Get matched with our network of trusted, local, investor friendly agents in under 2 minutes

User Stats

Votes
Dan Heuschele
Pro Member
  • Investor
  • Poway, CA
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Investor
  • Poway, CA
Replied Dec 22 2022, 14:08
Quote from @Nicole Reeder:

Maximizing ROI

Due to the high leverage, the boise investment is likely to produce the better COC and ROI.