User Stats

Votes
Danielle Tran
Votes |
Just Starting Out: Condo/Townhouse vs waiting to save on SFH

Danielle Tran
Posted Dec 26 2022, 16:36

Hello Bigger Pockets Community,

I would really love to get the advice from those who understand the Orange County, California market. I am just starting out and would love to invest in a property here in Orange County, CA. I have saved up enough to qualify for a condo/townhouse. I would love to invest in a single family home or multifamily property however I am unable to afford that at this time in this location. Since this will be my first property, I would prefer not to ask family or friends for help financially. I would start off with either house hacking or use an FHA/conventional loan where I live in it for one year and then rent it out after. I know it has been mentioned many times to not invest in a property that has an HOA however if I purchased a condo/townhouse, all of them comes with HOAs. I found a townhouse that has an HOA half the amount as all the other townhouses around the area. I am debating if I should jump on this opportunity to finally get started in investing in real estate or wait and save money for a single family home without an HOA. I keep hearing in my head "Time in the market is better than timing the market." I also don't want to become "house poor" if I choose to invest in a single family home. Would love to hear your opinions. Thanks!

User Stats

Votes
Theresa Harris
Pro Member
#3 Managing Your Property Contributor
Votes |
Pro Member
Replied Dec 26 2022, 16:54

Why is the HOA lower and will it allow you to rent rooms while you live there? My first place was a condo as it was affordable and the mortgage and condo fees were less than what it would have cost me to rent. I did rent out the second room. I kept it for many years, but ultimately sold it as the condo board was not doing a good job running it and it kept having special assessments.

Look at your current costs to rent vs owning.