User Stats

Votes
Tommie Rowell
Votes |
Down Payment Assistance Programs

Tommie Rowell
Posted Jan 5 2023, 06:55

Hello Everyone,

I'm new to the real estate investing seen but have attended seminars and done some book reading on my own up until this point and I think I'm finally ready to take the leap! Through all my studies I've developed this goal for myself to obtain my first property with as little out of pocket money as possible and I think I've found a way. So my state offers down payment assistance programs for first time buyers that meet a certain criteria. I meet this criteria and have also confirmed that I can buy multi-family properties with this program. I'm half-way through the process but wanted to check up with some legal and finance people to make sure I'm not missing any strings that may be attached here. Has anyone here obtained property this way or know of anything I should look out for before pulling the trigger?

User Stats

Votes
Harjeet Bhatti
Pro Member
  • Lender
  • Glenview IL- CDLP NMLS#230554
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Lender
Replied Jan 5 2023, 07:18

@Tommie Rowell Most of DPA programs has restrictions. It all depend if those restrictions will be obstacles for your investor journey. There are some DPA programs offer by individual banks. Explore all the options and look at their guidelines before you  take a loan. 

User Stats

Votes
Tommie Rowell
Votes |
Replied Jan 5 2023, 07:25

Yeah, so far the only obstacle I saw was that the property had to remain my primary residence for 5 years and I couldn't sell or refinance it at all. Which is fine, that won't prevent me from building my portfolio in that time frame. I was moreso concerned if it prevented me from writing off certain taxable items because the property was program assisted. 

BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|
Sponsored
Find an investor-friendly agent in your market TODAY Get matched with our network of trusted, local, investor friendly agents in under 2 minutes

User Stats

Votes