Skip to content
Starting Out

User Stats

Votes
Jaylen Jones
Votes |
First time investor looking for Multi unit properties.

Jaylen Jones
Posted Jan 12 2023, 06:58

Good morning everyone,

I am a first time investor in the Chicago area looking to find a muli unit property and fill it up with some tenants. I am 22 years old and I drive trucks for a living right now. I want to get my first property under my belt within the first 6 months of this year and create a positive cash flow to re invest my money. I have the skills of hard work, consistency, and dedication to something that I am involved in and this is something I plan on doing for a very long time. Any advice will help me at the moment and will be greatly appreciated. Thank you for your time!  

User Stats

Votes
Zac Gronda
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Knoxville, TN
Votes |
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Knoxville, TN
Replied Jan 12 2023, 07:37

I started with single family units and then duplex units.  If your looking for cash flow, look for the deal on the front end if possible, with tenets already included in the deal that make its flow, considering your on the road you need to make sure they are good tenants prior to investing and the property does not need a lot of investment in the structure.   

Also if your out of town a lot i would find a reliable property manager or a friend that can pretend to be one until you get off the ground.  

lastly get a good loan locked in and save for a bigger down payment so you don't get crushed by the interest rates we are experiencing right now 

User Stats

Votes
Bob Stevens
Pro Member
#3 General Landlording & Rental Properties Contributor
  • Real Estate Consultant
  • Cleveland
Votes |
Pro Member
#3 General Landlording & Rental Properties Contributor
  • Real Estate Consultant
  • Cleveland
Replied Jan 12 2023, 08:04
Quote from @Jaylen Jones:

Good morning everyone,