Starting Out

User Stats

Votes
Paul Armstrong
Votes |
New Prospect Investor Looking for some advice from a Senior Investor

Paul Armstrong
Posted Jan 27 2023, 23:00

My name is Paul Armstrong I am a Traveling ICU nurse and have a strong drive and interest to move into the real estate investing world. I currently have a large DTI ratio and want to start applying this to long term wealth after paying all of my school debt down instead of sitting in a bank or the stock market. My next assignment will be located in San Antonio, and I will be there for 3 months plus. I have done a solid amount of research and it seems like a solid foundation market to potentially purchase a first property (Please correct me if I am wrong). I am willing to put in the extra time and hours it takes to succeed and open for partnerships or even just information or tips that any of you established investors may be able to send my way. I look forward to hearing from any of you and appreciate your time in advance. Thank you sincerely Paul Armstrong

User Stats

Votes
Nathan Gesner
  • Real Estate Broker
  • Cody, WY
Votes |
  • Real Estate Broker
  • Cody, WY
ModeratorReplied Jan 28 2023, 04:33
Quote from @Paul Armstrong:

Others will disagree, but I believe you should pay down the debt first, then invest from a position of financial stability.

Do the math using two scenarios:

1. You pay the minimum on your student loans and put anything extra into investments. After the loans are eventually paid off (20 years? 50 years?) then add that to whatever you are investing. Where do you end up in 30, 50, or 70 years?

2. Pay the debt off like a madman. If you work extra hours, get $20 in your birthday card from Aunt Gertrude, or pick up a nickel off the ground, you put it toward the debt. After you've paid off the debt completely, start using that same hustle to invest. Where do you end up in 30, 50, or 70 years?