Starting Out

User Stats

Votes
Ethan Martinez
Votes |
buying property in college

Ethan Martinez
Posted May 25 2023, 21:48

I'm a junior in college (finance and real estate), and I want to buy something to get started, probably a house hack. I have good credit and a good DTI the problem is that I have no consistent/good income. My only jobs have been in high school/college, part time, making maybe 15k. I could obviously partner, but I have no experience/proven skills to offer for their money. Wondering the best path towards my first property.

User Stats

Votes
Eliott Elias#3 BRRRR - Buy, Rehab, Rent, Refinance, Repeat Contributor
  • Investor
  • Austin, TX
Votes |
Eliott Elias#3 BRRRR - Buy, Rehab, Rent, Refinance, Repeat Contributor
  • Investor
  • Austin, TX
Replied May 26 2023, 04:53

You need lending. The only type of loans you can get is DSCR and owner finance.

User Stats

Votes
Corby Goade
  • Investor
  • Boise, ID
Votes |
  • Investor
  • Boise, ID
Replied May 26 2023, 05:01

It's not the answer you want, but you need to get a job- lots or reliable, regular hours. 

Trust me, I'm old, been through a bit of life. When you're in college you THINK once you graduate that you'll get a bunch of time and energy back. Life only gets busier and more stressful. Now is the time for you to give it 200% because you'll have less free time in the future. 

When I was in college I was a full time student, a couple semesters part time, and worked 50-70 hours every week on top of that. I was crazy busy, but it allowed me to buy my first house with an FHA loan and I house hacked with some buddies before that was a thing. They paid my mortgage and I still have that house today- 23 years later. That house that I paid $5k out of pocket for is now worth $500k and I've leveraged it over and over to buy many, many more properties with OPM.