Skip to content
Starting Out

User Stats

Votes

Prioritizing First 10 Properties for Out of State Real Estate Investing

Siddhant Pradhan
Posted Dec 8 2023, 23:04

I have been reading Long Distance Real Estate Investing - David Greene, and came across an interesting tidbit of information: Your first 10 (1-4, 5-10) property loans are Fanny Mae insured, after which your loan criteria become more unfavorable (variable rates, stricter credit score requirements etc.). Of course, I'm dumbing this down but it's focused on the gist here.

Now, I planned on going long term buy and hold in a student housing market with SFH around the $100-150k mark. This would be my first investment property. But after reading about the above, I am thinking, should I save up more and go for multi-family in the same/ similar market? Should I save up significantly more and invest in a bigger town? Are there other strategies I should apply?

As of right now, I work in tech, and house hacking is not an option since most opportunities are here, and hybrid/ WFO. Any insights and or pointers to resources would be greatly appreciated!

User Stats

Votes
Travis Biziorek#4 Market Trends & Data Contributor
  • Investor
  • Arroyo Grande, CA
Votes |
Travis Biziorek#4 Market Trends & Data Contributor
  • Investor
  • Arroyo Grande, CA
Replied Dec 10 2023, 08:10

Hey Siddhant, there are a lot of variables here.

The first big one is if you're married. Your spouse can also have 10 conventional mortgages as well. That makes 20 between the two of you. If you're married but your spouse does not work and is on your primary mortgage there are still ways to work around this.

Seem appropriate to say I am NOT a lender but I do have a fair bit of knowledge on this as my wife and I own 12-doors in Detroit but live in CA.

Beyond the fact that you could have 20 conventional mortgages between you and a spouse, how you should proceed is dependent on your goals.