221(d)4 loan

4 Replies

I am a current lead service technician for a luxury living community. I want to educate myself on everything 221(d)4 loans for the future. I am determined to be successful in owning one myself. If there is anyone that might already have experience and already has success in the area. Some information to start would be great. I love what I do and really want to climb higher.

Hi David-

FHA 221(d)(4) loans are for either new construction or substantial rehab of multifamily properties - defined as 5 or more units. Due to the cost and complexity of the application process, you don't usually see loans less than $1 million, and even at a million it's a relatively expensive option.

FHA 223(f) loans are for refinancing or acquisition of existing multifamily and are a little less costly but same basic thresholds apply.

Do a search for those terms and you'll find some lender websites with basic loan program info, and HUD probably publishes some fact sheets or FAQs as well.

Let me know if I can answer any specific questions for you.

All the best,
Tom

Have no idea how a luxury living community would be using a 221 (d) loan.

Depends on what you might consider luxury.

These are commercial residential loans guaranteed by FHA.

These loans are generally to non-profits, they may private or partner with public housing authorities and the purpose to serve low and very low income persons. Generally all are SROs, single room occupancy having a private kitchen and bath but share living spaces. Other projects may be approved on a needs basis, could be moderate housing. Rehabs and new construction.

Our housing authority has one (of 4) high rise apartment buildings was a 221d. HUD financed project.

The luxury side may come in with other financing within a project, look to Section 42 Tax Credit programs through a syndicator (IRS Tax Code, Sec 42). Projects may have different sources of financing under certain restriction.