Starting out: May be a stupid question to most but I hope you can answer it.

6 Replies

Ok so as it states on the subject of this post I am a newbie about to start investing in real estate. I want to dive in as soon as possible before I get cold feet. 

I am doing a lot of research and reading along with listening to many of the podcast. I am planning on asking someone I know to borrow 50k or maybe even 60k at 8% interest. Lets say we get that taken care of. I have the cash on my account, Can I start purchasing properties? Is it as easy as that?

I know I have to do extensive research on the properties before I buy but lets say i did all the research and I want to buy do I just message the person and make an offer?

Or is there more to it? Like hiring an inspector, any other fees?

To me it seems simple; you like it you offer a price, they accept, you send money and they send title and property is yours. Is that how it works?

Thank you in advance for your time. 

So what you are trying to do is buy proprieties without investing any of your money is that correct. If anything goes south how are you going to repay the loan.

Joe Gore

Well what I plan on doing is buying my first single residential with a loan from the bank. And possibly borrow 80k to buy maybe 2 properties (30k each) and get cash flow from there to pay the lender her share.  Rest of  borrowed cash for miscellaneous .

Again this is just a beginners plan. I will continue to do research. But so far how does that sound to you? 

First thing I would do, before you buy something is get to know your area really well and analyze a few properties.  At least where I live, when you buy a single family for investment the taxes go through the roof.  My first place jumped from $200 a year before I bought it to $1300 a year as soon as I closed.