What are the steps and important things to remember when looking at foreclosures?

11 Replies

What do people intend to do when looking at foreclosures?

Is it to repair and sell? Rent? Is it possible to wholesale?

I am new to this and asking to gain more knowledge on the subject of foreclosures as a whole

Are you referring to properties that are already foreclosed or properties up for foreclosure sale? If you are talking pre-foreclosure one HUGE factor is determining which lien is being foreclosed on. There have been bidders that are the high bid at 40K on a 200K property thinking they hit a home run. After the fact, they find out they were the high bidder on a 2nd position mortgage and now they owe x amount on the 1st position lien. Proper research of liens is important. Other factors are going to be property condition, vacant or inhabited, rehab costs if needed, financing (typically they are all cash deals), etc. Some experienced investors have done very well bidding on foreclosures. Others have not done so well. Keep in mind that buying a property at foreclosure auction does not mean it is a deal. Sometimes the banks will bid the full amount owed even though the property is worth quite a bit less.

@John Thedford  

I am looking for more knowledge on foreclosure sales but also to know more of the difference between the two you just mentioned. Excuse my lack of knowledge. 

Could you also please go more into depth of liens?