Teenage Entrepreneur

4 Replies

Hello , 

My name is Myles Brown. I'm a seventeen year old entrepreneur. I have worked with the development of three different rehab projects and dozens of regular purchasing deals. I want to ask the BiggerPockets community what advice would you give someone buying their first property. Feel free to leave any book recommendations as well ( I tend to read a book a week). I am looking forward to becoming a part of the bigger pockets community. 

Good for you @Myles Brown ! Great to see young people starting out so early. 

While I'm new to BP and real estate investing, I can't offer any buying advice just yet. But as far as books, I can suggest what probably everyone else will suggest. Read (for 1st time home buyers):

Nolo's Essential Guide to Buying Your First Home by Ilona Bray J.D.

Home Buying Kit For Dummies by Eric Tyson 

The other two books on this subject I have are specifically for women so I don't know if you'll find them useful.

If you're talking about your first investment property, then hands down get:

The Book on Investing In Real Estate with No (and Low) Money Down: Real Life Strategies for Investing in Real Estate Using Other People's Money by @Brandon Turner , Joshua Dorkin

The Book on Estimating Rehab Costs: The Investor's Guide to Defining Your Renovation Plan, Building Your Budget, and Knowing Exactly How Much It All Costs by J. Scott

Best of luck to you!! Starting out this early and with the track record you already have, no doubt you'll do just fine.