Newbie needs help with starting point in Chicago

6 Replies

I'm a newbie that's in the learning and networking phase. I'm aiming to start looking for my first property next year and want to get some feedback on how feasible/realistic my strategy is. I plan on doing a house hack on a multi-family building (triplex or quad) in the Chicago area (northside, near west or near south) and I have $50k set aside for this with ability to borrow another $10k from an insurance policy. 

What do you guys think? Any suggestions, tips, or alternate ideas are much appreciated.

@Daniel L.

Welcome. 

Locate and attend 3 different local REIA club meetings great place to meet people gather resources and info. Here you will meet wholesalers who provide deals and rehabbers (cash buyers).

Two Great reads, I bought both J. Scott The Book on Flipping Houses, The Book on Estimating ReHab Costs http://www.biggerpockets.com/flippingbook

Consider checking out HUD homes for small multi's owner occupied gets first crack.

Download BP’s newest book here some good due diligence in Chapter 10. Real Estate Rewind Starting over

http://www.biggerpockets.com/files/user/brandonatbp/file/real-estate-rewind-a-biggerpockets-community-book

Good Luck

Paul 

Originally posted by @Daniel L. :

I plan on doing a house hack on a multi-family building (triplex or quad) in the Chicago area (northside, near west or near south) and I have $50k set aside for this with ability to borrow another $10k from an insurance policy.