Young and ready to get started. I just don't know how

4 Replies

A little about myself, I'm new to this website and new to learning about investing in real estate. I am 23 years old and I'm ready to start investing into real estate. I started reading books and learning about 5 months ago, the reason being was because I work in the oil and gas industry and as some of you may know it's not doing so well and I went from making good money to now living basically pay check to pay check saving a few hundred dollars every month. I am considering either getting a roommate or selling my home to help by saving more money. I am confused on how I should start out into this business. Currently I am having trouble getting the money for a down payment on an investment property. I am also unsure on where to start out at as in buying property and renting out or fix and flips.

Listen to the BP podcasts they are excellent!

Maybe consider house hacking. There are several things you can do but essentially you need either deals, or money so if you don't have money find deals through in-expensive means like networking, door knocking, cold calling, place free online ads, driving for dollars, targeted mail etc.

Find ways to add value to others, get creative. You will have to get un-comfortable and take smart risks, be persistent and focused. Don’t get caught up in the hype, watch out for GURUS! Investing is not easy.

Just some quick thoughts of what I wish I did/knew 4 years ago.

Cheers