Income Tax Return - Buy or pay on Debts?

4 Replies

Hi everyone, 

I am new to BiggerPockets and Real Estate.  I currently rent. Last year I had my second child but only 3 months into my pregnancy I was placed on bed rest and have yet to return.  Living paycheck to paycheck has become difficult to say the least.  We are expecting close to $10,000 from taxes.  We have racked up about $35,000 in Debt and dropped our credit score drastically.  Though everything is being paid on time, the use of credit escalated.  I have watched homes in my neighborhood sell for $20,000, while I pay the highest rent at $750.  When most of the homes are mortgaged at $250 - 300.

Not knowing when I will be returning to work, should we take our income tax return and single income and pay down debt while looking for a no money down rehab or take a fha with 3.5% down - higher APR since our scores have dropped- fixer upper. With hopes of the reduced housing expense furthering our investing abilities while truly gaining Real Estate knowledge and reducing our debt ....eventually. Oh currently we are reduced to an income less than $30,000 so to flop would be devastating and if it helps in the least our zip-code is 32754. Thank You all so much for your time. I stumbled over BiggerPockets on you-tube will researching Budget Wedding's of all things, another decision weighing so heavy on my mind.

Well I will be tossing and turning in hopes of some great ideas and some helpful advice!

Thank You All. 

Lynn Knights