How much insurance is recommended?

8 Replies

Hello all! Just signed up yesterday...

First post, first question:

I'm a newbie, looking at a 1 BR condo I can get fairly cheap, and the rent payment would cover the mortgage payment right away, making it cash-flow positive...

But I'm terrified of the nightmare scenario where someone falls down the stairs, breaks their leg, etc, or whatever the scenario, and I get sued and get wiped out financially. How much insurance is a safe amount to cover such an event? I'm guessing maybe $300k-$500k, but I'm not sure if that's on the high side, or maybe not quite enough. What would you folks advise when it comes to protecting yourself insurance-wise?

Set up a LLC and transfer title to the property to the LLC to avoid personal liability. Conduct all business in the name of the LLC. Secure insurance coverage in the name of the LLC.

I have $500K in primary liability coverage on each property plus an umbrella policy of $1M covering all properties. Umbrella coverage kicks in if and when you exceed primary liability coverage. Bumping coverage up to higher dollar levels is inexpensive. Umbrella coverage is cheap because it's rarely needed but it helps you sleep at night. 

@Terry France Most people will usually go with a $500,000 Liability Limit, Some will go higher, if it is available. It's always good to have an Umbrella or Excess Liability Policy in place. Just in case. as @Account Closed mentioned, it does help you sleep at night. 

However, not all policies, umbrella or otherwise, are the same. It is important to make sure the coverage you have in place fits your needs, goals, and risk tolerances. 

@Terry France ,