Does BRRRR count as a "simple" strategy?

8 Replies

First Post, 

Hi BP community, 

My name is Gil and I am new to real estate investing (old to life though).

I just found BP at the end of Oct. after I reached out to some friends about REI and they both independently sent me here.

I live in SoCal and am partnering with a realtor friend.

I have been listening to podcasts, reading and gathering some troops. 90% of the info I am getting is from the BP site and its materials. 

I Just finished Brandon Turners 7yrs to 7figures guide, where he lays out a pretty simple plan to get a million in real estate in 7rs starting with 20k. 

If you are familiar with the guide, one if its main rules is to Keep it Simple. I am paraphrasing, but he warns against complicating the process which is based on simple math.

Part of the 7yr guide asks us to buy cash flowing multifamily properties at 20% of value (with 20% down) and then force 10% equity.

That is the quick backstory, now for the question:

Does the BRRRR strategy enhance or hurt the plan laid out in the 7yrs to 7 figures guide?

If I use BRRRR I will put an extra STEP in the PROCESS, but is it a complicated step compared to what I might gain in access to winning deals?

Happy Thanksgiving. 

Howdy @Gil Ferro

Happy Thanksgiving.

The BRRRR strategy is not exactly a simple process. It is confusing to a lot of investors. But once you figure it out it's a great way to expand your portfolio with minimum capital.

Does it enhance or hurt the 7 to 7 plan?  Yes and no.

Brandon’s plan depends on equity appreciation both initial forced equity (10%) and 4% annually over a few years.  It also depends on accumulating good Cash Flow ($200 per unit/month) over the same timeframe.  You then utilize both to upgrade to a bigger property (more units.