What to do? (Busy accredited investor)

24 Replies

I am a busy professional and accredited investor looking for advice. Would you... 1.) Do a series of Turnkey investment properties (SFH) Or 2.) invest in MFH syndication deals I am looking for something passive. My problem with SFH is that scalability is going to be a problem. My problem with syndications is you do not have access to your capital. Thoughts?

Owning individual Turnkey investments are simply not as "passive" as many as would like you to believe, and certainly not as passive as investing in syndication.  As an accredited investor you have a lot of choices in the latter.  I would suggest you consider the amount of time you can/want devote to vetting turnkey providers, markets, and each property you are considering.  You should also expect to have to manage the property managers.  Of course, as you indicated, with turnkey you can leverage your capital, and potentially pull some capital out while holding on to the asset.  You have to decide which works better for you, and nothing says you can't do some of both.  Here's an article I wrote on Three Key Routes for Passive Real Estate Investing

All best in your REI

Thanks for the reply Larry. For simplicity sake, I made my post intentionally short. Didn’t mean to short change the work involved with Turnkey rentals. I have been vetting providers now for a while and am considering this as a viable option. I have been thinking about getting into syndicate deals for accredited investors for the shear passivity but I’m not sure if this is necessarily a good approach. From what I’ve seen, the returns can be just as good with less management on my end. I guess is the extra work of Turnkey worth the extra return especially for a busy individual?

All the best

@Marc M. , I own both single-family rentals directly, and invest through passive crowdfunding/syndication investments.  Each has its pluses and minuses.